Skip to Content

SPSR Lawyers Named to the 2024 Best Lawyers in America and Best Lawyers Ones to Watch Lists; 3 Singled Out as Lawyer of the Year for Their Practice Areas

August 17, 2023 General

Simon, Peragine, Smith & Redfearn is pleased to announce that fifteen lawyers have been included in the 2024 edition of The Best Lawyers in America, three have been singled out for Lawyer of the Year and three have been named to the Ones to Watch list.  Since its inception in 1983, Best Lawyers has become universally regarded as the definitive guide to legal excellence. 

The firm would like to congratulate the following attorneys named to the 2024 The Best Lawyers in America list: 

  • David F. Bienvenu — Commercial Litigation, Insurance Law, Litigation – Insurance, Personal Injury Litigation – Defendants 
  • Daniel J. Caruso — Commercial Litigation, Insurance Law, Litigation – Construction
  • M. Claire Durio — Commercial Transactions / UCC Law, Real Estate Law
  • Benjamin R. Grau — Construction Law, Litigation – Construction 
  • Jay H. Kern — Construction Law, Litigation – Construction 
  • Douglas R. Kinler – Mass Tort Litigation / Class Actions – Defendants, Product Liability Litigation – Defendants  
  • Susan B. Kohn — Mass Tort Litigation / Class Actions – Defendants, Personal Injury Litigation – Defendants, Product Liability Litigation – Defendants 
  • Luke P. LaRocca – Construction Law, Litigation – Construction  
  • Denise C. Puente — Commercial Litigation, Construction Law, Litigation – Construction 
  • M. Davis Ready – Commercial Litigation, Personal Injury Litigation – Defendants 
  • Douglas W. Redfearn – Commercial Litigation, Insurance Law, Product Liability Litigation – Defendants 
  • Robert Redfearn, Jr. — Commercial Litigation 
  • H. Bruce Shreves — Arbitration, Construction Law, Litigation – Construction, Mediation 
  • John F. Shreves – Elder Law, Tax Law 
  • Douglass F. Wynne, Jr. — Construction Law, Litigation – Construction 

In addition to being named a Best Lawyer in America, three lawyers have been selected as “Lawyer of the Year” for their work in their respective fields. 

Only a single lawyer in each practice area and designated metropolitan area is honored as the “Lawyer of the Year,” making this accolade particularly significant. These lawyers are selected based on particularly impressive voting averages received during the peer review assessments. Receiving this designation reflects the high level of respect a lawyer has earned among other leading lawyers in the same communities and the same practice areas for their abilities, their professionalism, and their integrity. 

Three lawyers have been singled out and selected to Best Lawyers in America’s Ones to Watch list. They are:  

Best Lawyers has published its list for over 40 years, earning the respect of the profession, the media, and the public as the most reliable, unbiased source of legal referrals.  Its first international list was published in 2006 and since then has grown to provide lists in over 75 countries.  Lawyers on The Best Lawyers in America list are divided by geographic region and practice areas.  They are reviewed by their peers on the basis of professional expertise and undergo an authentication process to make sure they are in current practice and in good standing.